HEAVEN(knows)

Who is understanding
and wise among you?
By his good conduct
let him show his works
in the meekness of wisdom.”

JAMES 3:13 KJV


One day at a time! That was my mantra through the pain-is-an-understatement 13-day recuperation from vascular surgery. Though I winced and slept and hobbled through the days, God was making me new. From the inside-out. In order to rebuild, I must start first with the foundation…and there’s nothing like stripping away self-sufficiency to show what we really have to offer. In fact, the world kept turning quite smoothly without me! Children were fed; deadlines were met; and most miraculous of all, I actually got a little peace & quiet! For once, Time was on my side…and that’s where it gets tricky. You see, with all that time on my hands, devoid of responsiblity, with nothing to distract me: my own morality came front and center. No longer could I hide a bad temper behind a tsunami of toys. There was no wailing toddler to drown out God’s voice…He had me right where He wanted me. The Bible tells us that “…all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28) Even for busy moms with too many vices who are still just little lost sheep. So, I’m taking this remade body for a spin and I’m going to enjoy Life by leaps and bounds, but I hope I never forget: God works from the inside-out.

 Echoes of Mercy:

JON FOREMAN: The Cure for Pain

Leave a Reply

