EMPTY(pockets)

“”There is a boy here
who has five barley loaves and two fish,
but what are they for so many?”

JOHN 6:9 ESV


Today I am expecting a special delivery. A brand-spanking-new washing machine! It all started on Thursday night. The old girl just gave out…there was nothing to be done about it. I was devastated. I should have expected as much (I mean, this thing was older than I am!), but there’s something about surprises that I’ve never really liked. However, the timing could not have been more perfect. You see, Friday we received Ben’s quarterly stipend, his student loan check. As this is his final semester, it is his last check. So, here’s the rub: we carefully plotted and planned out a detailed budget that would carry us through Graduation, but now we are met with a substansial gap…about one month’s worth of gasoline.   There’s a funk in the air. No, it’s not the baskets filled with sour laundry lurking in the corner. It’s the worry of being surrounded by unmet needs (and more than a few wants). It’s the worry of not-knowing. God, we need a loaves and fishes miracle. I can say I’m genuinely excited to take the new washer for a spin, and every time I throw in a pair of dirty jeans I hope I remember how God has met my need…and trust Him to do it again.

 Echoes of Mercy:

Leave a Reply

