PEARL(of great price)

“and hope does not put us to shame,
because God’s love has been
poured into our hearts
through the Holy Spirit who has
been given to us.”

ROMANS 5:5 ESV


‘Tis better to give than to receive. This phrase is heard most often at Christmas, and no year has it rung more true than this. For Christmas this year, I gave my mother a gift of particular value, the gift of a gratitude. I wrote her a letter listing many (but not all) of the times in my life and the lives of those around her, where she has been a blessing…not just the everyday kind. The kind of blessing that comes from sacrifice, belief, and seeing the good in people. I placed her letter in a gift-wrapped box to offer her on Christmas Day. I did one more thing too, a lovely jewelry company (The Vintage Pearl) was accepting letters nominating those who deserve a special, unexpected blessing this Christmas…so, in went the letter. Hey, a girl can dream, right? Imagine my surprise when, on Christmas Eve, a special package arrived for my mother. You guessed it…her letter was chosen! Upon opening the parcel was found a beautifully wrapped box and nestled inside, a lovely necklace hand-stamped with the words “i’ll be there” a phrase that embodies my mother in many ways. On Christmas morning, I had the great joy in giving my mother this beautiful token of sacrifice, gratitude, and the love between a mother and daughter. Oh, and one more thing…it just so happens that mom had a little something up her sleeve too, and gave  me a heart necklace inscribed with the names of my children. So, you could say ‘Tis better to give and receive!

 Echoes of Mercy:

One thought on “PEARL(of great price)

Leave a Reply

