BEAUTIFUL(things)

“My beloved speaks and says to me:
Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away,
for behold, the winter is past;
the rain is over and gone.”

THE SONG OF SOLOMON 2:10~11 ESV


Beauty & the Beast. Truth be told: I’m both. In a culture where sex sells, physical beauty is the highest currency. We primp and pluck. Paint and pouf. We pore over our faces, women with lipstick and mascara; men with razor and shaving cream. Yet, beauty is more than skin deep. Our true beauty, that which God sees when He looks at us, lies in the hidden motives of the heart. When is the last time I looked at my heart with the kind of precise examination that I give to my eyebrows? Am I willing to remove the slivers of pride and selfishness that stud my inner self? When God looks at us, He sees deeper than the facade we carry, past the sin that marred us, to our bare naked souls…and what He sees is beautiful. He takes us as we are, broken and bruised, because He sees the truth of what He made us to be: beloved. So, go ahead and put your best foot forward. Wear your favorite color and give the world a smile that could stop traffic. Just remember, it’s whats inside that really matters.

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Beautiful Things\” by Gungor

Leave a Reply

