LOST(the race)

“Again I saw that under the sun
the race is not to the swift,
nor the battle to the strong,
nor the bread to the wise,
nor riches to the intelligent,
nor favor to those with knowledge,
but time and chance
happen to them all.”

ECCLESIASTES 9:11 ESV

How do you measure a day of your life? Is it the in quality of your relationships, or the productivity of your work day? Or maybe, you’ve just stopped trying to measure up. That’s not a bad idea. If I had to measure my day yesterday, I’d sum it up this way: 116 (clothespins)+ 261.4 (miles) divided by 3 (cranky kids at the dentists’) + 1 (garden hose left running) = one exhausted Mom. Phew! 17 hours and going strong. At the end of the day, as I shuffled to bed, I wondered: did I make it count? Sure, I hit the mark. Like a line of rusty old tin cans on a fence-post. Yet, day’s end left me feeling like one of the used up and thrown out. Bedtime story with the kids? Ummm, gimme the one with the fewest words. I may have been first out of the gate, but I lost the race. So, maybe I should just let it be. Live a Life of Love. Today’s just as full, but it’s not about a mad dash to the finish line. I want to just live today. With love. That’s enough for me.

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Run the Race\” by Paul Taylor Smith

Leave a Reply

