COURAGEOUS(faith)

“Blessed is the man who
remains steadfast under trial,
for when he has stood the test
he will receive a crown of life,
which God has promised
to those who love him.”
JAMES 1:12 ESV

Not all who wander are lost. I have a recurring dream in which I am traveling down a country road…and sometimes I reach my destination. In my dream, the road vacillates between three distinct locations, an intersection, a bridge, and a barn. But wherever I find myself, the feeling remains: longing. So, the question is: what am I longing for? At different points in my life I have yearned after many things, the unifying quality always being the elusiveness of the object of my desire. But, in the desperate shards of my broken life, I found the truth behind my searching: I was made to love. I was lovingly hand-crafted by the Creator of the universe, who just so happens to be crazy-in-love with me! When this really hit me, I could finally understand that the self-worth, love, achievement, respect, friendship, success, excitement, and individuality that I had been chasing had been there all along. In His eyes. His nail-scarred hands. His heart. His body that was bruised & broken for me. Experiencing such raw love in the face of the strategic dismantling of my so-called life, gave me hope (when there was none), strength (in my utter weakness), and courageous faith (just to face another day).

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Praise You in this Storm\” by Casting Crowns

Leave a Reply

