HOPE (and fear)

“For in this hope we were saved.
Now hope that is seen is not hope.
For who hopes for what he sees?
But if we hope for what we do not see,
we wait for it with patience.”
ROMANS 8:24~25 ESV

We celebrated my brother’s birthday yesterday. A sunny afternoon BBQ in the backyard, surrounded by friends and family. My little brother in now a man. It’s easy to forget the road that brought us here. By all accounts, he should have died the summer I left home. It was a sunny afternoon, like any other. Just boyhood pals horsing around. My mom and I were driving into the city for one of my last music lessons when we saw my dad’s truck coming back from town. We waved happily and continued on our way. A short moment later, he had turned the truck around and flagged us down. I remember, he walked to my door first, and asked me to get out of the car. Standing at the side of a busy highway, my dad uttered these words: “You’re brother was shot…in the neck…he’s on the way to the hospital. Don’t tell your mother yet.” My little brother’s friend had taken a hunting gun out, and was just playing around. No one knew it had a stray bullet in it. The drive to the hospital seemed like an instant, or was it an eternity? As my father tried to comfort my mother, I walked to the receptionist to inform her of our purpose there. But, the words choked in my mouth and wouldn’t come out. The trigger lock was defective. The shot went just left of his adam’s apple and came out of his shoulder. We were led to a room where my brother lay on a table, his shirt cut away, tubes and gauze shrouding his form. When he came home from the hospital, the nerve damage was so extensive, he could only lift his left arm a few inches. Simply picking up a cup was a chore. Today, my brother is double black belt in karate. He is an accomplished guitarist. Most of all, he is a man who knows the hope that we have in Christ.

 Echoes of Mercy: \”Someone Worth Dying For\” by MIKESCHAIR

Leave a Reply

