LOVE (won’t let go)

“with a strong hand
and an outretched arm,
for his steadfast love
endures forever.”

PSALM 136:12 ESV

I’m glad that I have Someone to look up to. Today, I just need someone to rely on, I don’t think I can make it through the carpools and checklists…not on my own, that is. Grace is such a beautiful thing, but how do I make room for it between groceries and garbage? Like a lost little girl standing in the candy aisle, I find myself easily distracted by a plethora of worldly ideals, with little thought of the consequences to my peace of mind. The rush of accomplishment (Goodbye, Laundry Mountain!), the thrill of conquest (Is ketchup considered a vegetable? Oh, well…). But if I measure my life by the checkmarks on my To-Do List, then the doldrums leave me woefully incomplete. I’ll never be able to hold a candle to June Cleaver, and that’s the meat of it: why chase after the sweetness of success (which leaves me always thirsting for more), when I can accept the blessing of faithfulness (which does not measure my accomplishments but my perseverance). A Mommy’s Guide to Grace: slow & steady wins the race! So, the next time I find myself standing in Life’s candy aisle looking for a quick success to bolster my self-worth, I need only turn to see my Father waiting for me, with an outstretched arm. His love is all I need.

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Children of God\” by Third Day

Leave a Reply

