(Waking) Life

“No one has ever seen God;
if we love one another, God abides in us
and his love is perfected in us.”
1 JOHN 4:12 ESV

Love can make you do funny things. You can find Love at first sight. Be madly in Love. Lovesick. Unrequited Love. First Love. True Love. Endless Love. The terms of endearment used to label Love go on and on. But, many times over the years I’ve found myself at a loss for what love really looks like. Like loving someone through expressions that speak to them, even if it’s greek to me. Figuring that out takes a while…do you think you know your lover, your mother, or your child? What is it that really makes them feel loved by you? Or, what about loving someone who doesn’t know how to love you in return? As desperately painful as that can be, solace can be found in the scripture:

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast;
it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way;
it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things,
hopes all things, endures all things.”
1 CORINTHIANS 13:4-6

This is the love that God has for us, even when we stray from His loving embrace. His words are a Love Letter to all of humanity, drawing us closer to Him. 

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Your Love Is A Song\” by Switchfoot

4 thoughts on “(Waking) Life

  1. I couldn’t agree more with that statement. Someone asked me once “why did I love my mom?” The question struck me as odd, it was even harder to come up with the list that I was supposed to come up with, because my initial list was comprised of things that I was “supposed” to love her for…but I had to really look at my mom and my relationship with her to think about the things that I really love about her, such as the things I really love about my partner. I wish people would do those things more and tell those things to the people they love.

    • People should, as you said, tell those things
      [that they cherish about eachother] to the people they love.
      Words have an incredible power to them: bringing life (and love) or death (and pain).
      However, as the old saying goes: Actions speak louder than Words.
      I want to walk the Walk and talk the Talk of my faith.
      But, this like many things, is easier said than done.
      Many blessings,
      Juniper

  2. By the way, I think my blog for last sunday, along with the video, goes along quite well with that ideal…just doing that same thing, saying it…doing it…whatever it is…the right thing, the right emotion…let it all out and go for God and go for Glory. I think you might enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

