(Jar Of) Hearts

“I will run in the way of your commandments
when you enlarge my heart.”
PSALM 119:32 ESV

I spent the weekend on too little sleep and more than a few tears. My Dad was rushed to the hospital on Friday with breathing problems, his doctor told us that he might have died had he not come in when he did. Dad spent the weekend in acute care, where he was treated for pnuemonia. He has COPD, so difficulty breathing has become a daily ritual, so to speak. Now, he will be attending pulmonary rehabiliation sessions. Breathe in…breathe out. Such a simple act that I take for granted (a thousand times per day). I’m glad to have Dad home safe and sound…and I am grateful for another day together. But, I’m not ready to face what will come down the road. I am blessed to have a living legacy in my grandparents, and I have a box full of precious memories to draw from when I can no longer reach out to embrace them. I am deeply blessed to have a close-knit relationship with both my parents and my in-laws, for I am still storing away treasures in my box of memories. I do not wish for the day when I will draw from that box, when what I really need is to feel their loving embrace. But, at the same time, I find true peace in opening my hands to God. This earthly family that I cherish so deeply, how much more loved are we by Him who made us? So, when I need to feel the warmth of love deep in my soul, I turn to the One who loves me, who made me, and who holds me (and my loved ones) in the palm of His hand.

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”From The Inside Out\” by Hillsong United

Leave a Reply

