Hello, My Name Is…

“These are grumblers, malcontents,
following their own sinful desires;
they are loud-mouthed boasters,
showing favoritism to gain advantage.”
JUDE 1:16 ESV

Hmmm…now does this sound familiar to anyone else? True confession: sometimes, I can check all five of those bad boys off my list before lunch.

Hello, my name is Juniper and I’m ______(fill in the blank).  Today, I think I’m going to go with: malcontent. Grumbler, complainer, faultfinder. Yep, that fits the bill pretty nicely. So, how did I find myself here? I took my eyes off the road. The Bible tells us to “set your mind on things that are above, not on things that are on earth” (Colossians 3:2) and “where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21). On my way into church yesterday, my flip-flops broke. The little strap just popped right out with no hope of being reattatched. So, after some failed attempts as a cobbler, I shuffled in and took my seat. The sermon? Oh, it was very thought-provoking…all I was thinking about were my bare naked feet. Awfully petty. Do you want to know what’s great, though? Nobody cared. This is my church, we’re family. Not perfect, but real. So, there are some skeletons in the closet, and a few crazy Uncles. Anybody know what I’m talking about? Just like a family, we are connected by something bigger than ourselves. There may be a few squabbles over politics as the turkey is carved, but the love that we share runs deep and pure. I’m glad to have a family like that. I’m glad to have found love like that. Even when I’m having a rotten day and I can’t see any farther than my own two feet, I know my brothers and sisters in Christ love me. And even more, my heavenly Father loves me: for who I was, who I am, and who He is leading me to become.

 Echoes of Mercy:

\”Mess Of Me\” by Switchfoot

Leave a Reply

