Come On, Get “Happy”!

“Your testimonies are my heritage forever,
for they are the joy of my heart.”
PSALM 119:111 ESV

The word happiness refers to the attainment of what one considers good. Not a bad thing in itself, really! Lots of good things in life make me happy: laughter shared among friends; warm chocolate chip cookies made with the kids; the fresh stillness after a thunderstorm. Contentment is described as a peaceful kind of happiness in which one rests without desires, even though every wish may not have been gratified. Hmmm, day after day this is evades my grasp. Like chasing after the wind. Maybe that is the problem…I am always chasing, arms reaching, fingers straining to grasp that which cannot be attained. We’ve had a very busy week and attained a lot of what we consider good: high grades, made beds, relative calm. But, all of that striving leaves me tired and used up, like an empty glass of water waiting to be filled. Like the stillness that follows a storm, perhaps contentment can be found when I set aside the busyness of my daily to-do, and follow, quietly, after my Savior. To be still and rest with the One who is better than I could ever wish for. To have joy that cannot be measured by my achievements. In the stillness I find that peaceful kind of happiness. And my cup overflows with joy, once again!

Echoes of Mercy:

\”Come On (My Soul)\” by Rend Collective Experiment 

Leave a Reply

