Move in Me

“they who wait for the Lord shall
renew their strength; they shall
mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.”

ISAIAH 40:31 ESV

I have always been looking for the answers. I thought that if I could just figure it all out, I would reach some lofty summit of spiritual understanding…well, that’s what life all about, isn’t it? We all want to know that we’re moving in the right direction. That we are doing well. So, I added a few things to my self-imposed To-Do List. Things like: do everything without complaining; or bless those who persecute you. Do the next Right Thing. But, no matter how many times I tried, I came up short. Where I needed to show love, I cast judgement. Where I should be compassionate, I was impatient instead. I was living (and losing) a self-made life. So, now I seek to wait upon the Lord. In the light of His love, all of my prideful striving lay useless, like a flashlight in the noonday sun. The love of Jesus Christ is that real, everything else is void without it. And His grace washes through me like a flood. With every moment that I stumble and fall, He is waiting to wash my dirty knees and set me on my feet again. Lather, rinse, repeat. And I know that the only thing that I have to offer is the love that flows from Him through me.

Echoes of Mercy:

\”Movements\” by Rend Collective Experiment

Leave a Reply

